My Chinese Fried Rice

I made my first fried rice when I was 12. It was very edible but also too oily at the bottom of the dish was soak in oil. I made it for my then good friend and was very proud of my cooking then. I still make the same fried rice only it’s not so oily and I replaced luncheon meat with real meat. I really miss luncheon meat! Cut into thin slice and fry them.

Since I am the very few people here who needs warm cooked lunch, I mostly eat at home, making simple 1 person lunch. Fried rice has become one of the regular dish with left over rice from dinner. Chop chop chop, fry fry fry, in less than 20 minutes, I have my smelling good, hot tasty fried rice on table.

I never understand how the non Asian gets impressed with fried rice in a restaurant, they like to order fried rice in the Japanese restaurants here. It’s such a simple dish to make at home, why would they spend Euro10 for a bowl of rice stir fry with eggs (the restaurants are stingy in ingredients here!).

Ingredients (serving 2):

  • 1.5 bowl over night rice. It’s very important that you used over night rice, the freshly made rice are too sticky and moist for this dish. In Europe where the airs is dryer and cooler, it is also possible to use rice that has been cooled down for a few hours.
  • 1 carrot – cut into small cubes
  • 1 onion – roughly chopped
  • 100 gram of pork/chicken – cut into small cubes, marinated in 1 tablespoon light soy sauce, bit of white pepper and 1 teaspoon of sugar
  • Half a bowl of green peas
  • 2 eggs – beaten with 1 teaspoon of light soy sauce
  • cooking oil
Heat up the wok with 2 tablespoon of oil, in rather high heat, pour in the eggs. Quickly breaking up the eggs in the wok and flipping them to avoid getting burned. When the eggs look something like the picture on the left, remove them from the heat and set them aside for use later.

With the same wok in medium heat, add in 1 tablespoon of oil. Add in the carrots and stir fry until they start to change colour, add in the onions. Following the onions, add in the pork/chicken, green peas and lastly the eggs with about 1 minute interval on each item.

Keep stir frying them and add 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 tablespoon of light soy and then add the rice into the wok.

If the wok is too hot (the stir fry keep sticking to the wok), reduce the heat. Mix the ingredients well, add a little white pepper and serve while it’s warm.

You may want to add a little chili to spice it up and if so, add the chili before adding the rice into the wok.

About MyTasteHisTaste

Love eating and wine drinking.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Chinese Fried Rice

  1. peachlamour says:

    Hello, thanks for this recipe too. I tried making fried rice before, didn’t look up a recipe and just thought I would give it a shot. I used fresh rice though, and it just went sloppy. But now I know for sure that left over rice is the way. Lol!

Leave a Reply

