Chinese risotto – 烩饭

I remember when I was a teenager, hanging around the shopping mall and bus station (yes! Bus station!) my friends and I often ate at the food court ordering this weird rice dish that I neve come across anywhere else again. It’s sort of like a fried rice in gravy.

Looked it up on the internet today (by its Chinese noun), I read that the dish had been around for more than 2,000 years and they even know who created it. How strange. I thought it was created by the lady who made it at the food court.

It was translated in googled translate to risotto. I haven’t tried any risotto cooking yet, not sure how similar they are. So one of the website explain the Chinese risotto is cooked by combining all ingredients (you have or plan to have) and cook them with rice. That’s easy. Below is what I have made for myself for lunch today.

What I have come up with after looking through my fridge/freezer:

  • 1/5 of green pepper/capsicum – cut into dice
  • 6 snow peas – cut into three each
  • 1 Dutch carrot – they are slimmer than “normal” carrot. Cut into dice
  • Half onion – cut into dice
  • 3 garlic – roughly chopped
  • 1 scallion – roughly chopped
  • 1 tomato – cut into dice
  • 100gram mix of minced pork and meat

You may use any other vegetable or meat you want, just cut everything into small pieces.

Other ingredients needed:

  • Rice – I have used left over rice from night before, you may cook fresh one if you don’t have left over rice
  • 1 tablespoon oyster sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 1-2 cups water
  • Corn flour – mix 1/2 tablespoon corn flour with 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 tablespoon cooking oil

Heat the pan/wok with the cooking oil. Put in sequence (with about 10 seconds in between while stir frying): carrot, green pepper, garlic, onion, minced meat (break it up with the spatula), tomato, snow pea and scallion.

Add the salt and oyster sauce, stir and mix well, add 1 cup of water. Let it cook for 3 minutes. Add the rice and more water so it looks a little soupy. stir the wok/pan and mix everything well. Lastly, add the corn flour mixture into the dish to thicken the gravy.

I wonder what you think of this. I thought it was quite tasty and I was happy that I got to clear some of the left over vegetable and rice in my fridge while feeding myself a warm lunch in this cold Autumn afternoon.

 

About MyTasteHisTaste

Love eating and wine drinking.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

